Reflections on a Watering Can

Although it is much more efficient to unwind the hose and spray all the pots and plants, I have found some particular comfort in the watering can. Fill, empty, fill, empty, fill again. It is a process that requires one to stand still for more than ten seconds. It also has turned a chore into something more contemplative and peaceful-something that I appreciate after a busy and stressful school year and more changes in store for next fall.  I feel truly drained and empty  – looking for a way to recharge my creative spirit. Watering each pot, one by one, allows me to really look at the flowers and reminds me to stop, think, and be grateful for each blessing, large and small.

Leave a Reply

